Main navigation
Main content area

National Radioactive Waste Management Facility consultative committees

Community consultation is an important part of establishing the National Radioactive Waste Facility (NRWMF).

Independent consultative committees advised the National Radioactive Waste Management Facility Taskforce on their respective communities.until February 2020. This work is continuing for a limited time under the Australian Radioactive Waste Agency.

The committees advised on:

  • which proposed projects to fund under the Community Benefit Programme
  • the design and operation of the facility
  • community support for the facility

The committees weren’t decision-making bodies and each only performed an advisory role between the community and the government. Community members who made up the committees met throughout the site selection process to discuss key aspects of the project.

Kimba Consultative Committee

Two sites were nominated in South Australia’s Kimba district—Lyndhurst and Napandee.

The Kimba Consultative Committee advised on both these sites. In January 2020, the government identified Napandee as the preferred site to host the facility. The committee now advises on Napandee.

Read the Committee guidelines [DOC 177KB] and terms of reference [DOC 26KB].


  • Allan Suter (Convener)
  • Dean Johnson (Deputy Convener)
  • Symon Allen
  • Heather Baldock
  • Jeffrey Frank Baldock
  • Pat Beinke
  • Randall Cliff
  • Kellie Hunt
  • Sally Inglis
  • Jeff Koch
  • Meagan Jane Lienert
  • Kerri Rayson
  • Toni Scott
  • Peta Willmott
  • Peter Woolford
  • Amy Wright

Committee meeting minutes

Kimba Economic Working Group

The Working Group ensured neighbouring communities are best placed to fill any economic development opportunities.

In February 2020, the Kimba Economic Working Group agreed to meet alongside the Kimba Consultative Committee for a more streamlined consultation process.

Read the group’s terms of reference [PDF 425KB] [DOC 61KB].


  • David Schmidt - Chair
  • Charlie Milton
  • Christine Lehmann
  • Dean Johnson
  • Debra Larwood
  • Heather Baldock
  • Laura Fitzgerald
  • Patricia Beinke

Working group minutes

Barndioota Consultative Committee

A site was nominated in South Australia’s Barndioota locality—Wallerberdina Station. 

The Barndioota Consultative Committee advised on this site. This committee is now helping AusIndustry assess projects under the Community Benefit Program.

Read the Committee guidelines [PDF 399KB] [DOC 194KB] and terms of reference [PDF 24KB] [DOC 7KB].


  • Paul Thomas (Convener)
  • Greg Flint (Deputy Convener)
  • Susan Andersson
  • Denise Carpenter
  • Victor Clark
  • Ronald K Daniel
  • Philip Leo Fels
  • Jon Gill
  • Ashley Haywood
  • Julia Henderson
  • John Hennessy
  • Janice McInnis
  • David Michael
  • John Rowe
  • Aaron Stuart
  • Steven Taylor
  • Cecilia Woolford

Committee meeting minutes

Wallerberdina Economic Working Group

The Working Group helped ensure neighbouring communities were best placed to fill economic development opportunities. Read the group’s terms of reference [PDF 308KB] [DOC 60KB].


  • Ian Carpenter – Co Chair
  • Malcolm McKenzie – Co Chair
  • Ashley Haywood
  • Deidre McKenzie
  • John Coulthard
  • Kevin Wedding
  • Ronald Daniel

Working group minutes

Read more

Contact us

Last updated: 8 December 2020

Content ID: 63497