Main content area

The Barry Inglis Medal

The Barry Inglis Medal is an annual award recognising outstanding achievement in measurement research and excellence in practical measurements by an individual or group in Australia. This achievement could be a single major contribution or a body of work developed throughout your career. Your achievement can include practical measurements or research undertaken for almost any purpose, including industrial, research or academic purposes.

The award is named after Dr Barry Inglis, the National Measurement Institute’s (NMI) first CEO and Chief Metrologist.

Measurement has direct applications in science and technology, underpinning decisions in economics and politics and is often a foundation for innovation. We encourage nominations from people from diverse backgrounds and from any field. Each winner receives $2 000 in prize money and a trophy.


  • Opening date for nominations: 24 February 2021, 9am AEDT
  • Closing date for nominations:14 April 2021, 5pm AEST
  • We announce the winner on 20 May 2021, World Metrology Day

Assessment criteria

We encourage nominations by individuals or groups who have achieved one or more of the following:

  • made a significant contribution to the science of measurement 
  • long-standing importance in the field of measurement and its application and practice
  • provided exceptional leadership in the field of measurement
  • demonstrated a combination of any of the above

Excellence in measurement may include:

Novel applications of measurement techniques to solve industrial ‘challenges’

This could mean working collaboratively with industry and researchers from a diverse range of fields like: 

  • chemistry
  • biology
  • computer science
  • life sciences
  • disciplines traditionally associated with measurement, such as physics and engineering

Research in measurement techniques

This could include research and its applications in measurement methodology and instrumentation, including to improve the uncertainty of measurement.

Leadership role in measurement fields

This could include leadership at either national, regional or international levels in any discipline or activity that involved the use of measurement science. Your application should include a peer-assessed acknowledgement of how you contributed to measurement activities.

How to nominate

Email the completed nomination form and supporting information to communications [at] by 5pm AEST, 14 April 2021.

Download the Nomination Form [2.0MB DOCX]

Include this supporting information:

  • a brief description (2 pages maximum) of the activity including its aims, objectives and results to date 
  • a brief explanation (2 pages maximum) of how the activity represents excellence in measurement by addressing the eligibility criteria
  • a maximum of 3 independent assessments from people familiar with the nomination, commenting on how the submission represents excellence in measurement. They will need to address the assessment criteria (see above) in 1 page. The Award judges will rely on independent assessments to provide depth and perspective on the nomination.


  1. You must be either an Australian citizen or the activity your nomination is based on was conducted in Australia.
  2. If you are part of a group, the principal investigator responsible for the activity must be Australian or the activity must have been conducted in Australia.
  3. Employees of NMI and their immediate family members are not eligible to be nominated for this award.

Terms and conditions

  1. We may use any information in your nomination for publicity/promotional purposes.
  2. You must be willing to travel and attend a presentation ceremony to accept the award. The ceremony may be on World Metrology day (20 May) or another date that will be confirmed. Travel within Australia and associated costs will be paid by NMI.
  3. Posthumous awarding of the prize will only be made under exceptional circumstances.

Honour roll

We are proud to recognise the outstanding contributions the following recipients have made to the field of measurement:

  • 2020    Warwick Bowen
  • 2019    Wojciech Chrzanowski
  • 2018    Derek Abbott
  • 2017    Andre Luiten
  • 2016    Mike McLaughlin
  • 2015    Graham Jones
  • 2014    Bruce Forgan
  • 2013    Not awarded
  • 2012    Not awarded
  • 2011    Philip NH Nakashima
  • 2010    Ken Baldwin
  • 2009    Michael E Tobar
  • 2008    John E Sader

Read more 

Connect with us

Contact us

  • Email info [at]
  • 1800 020 076
  • Write to us at: GPO Box 2013, Canberra ACT 2601

See also 

Last updated: 24 February 2021

Content ID: 64616