Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science goes all-digital in 2020

Main content area


21 September 2020

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious awards for:

  • outstanding achievements in scientific research and research-based innovation
  • excellence in science, mathematics or technology teaching.

This year’s Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science will be presented in an online public event on Wednesday 28 October from 6pm to 7pm AEDT. The Prime Minister and Minister for Industry, Science and Technology, will announce the Prize recipients during the event.

Make sure you save the date and time!

The event will be hosted online due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation in Australia, in line with the Australian Government’s latest advice. This is to ensure the health and safety of our community.

Prize recipients are awarded up to a total of $750,000 each year. Each prize recipient receives prize money, a medallion and lapel pin designed by international artist Wojciech Pietranik from the Royal Australian Mint.

Recipients also receive an award certificate, recognising their contributions to Australia’s scientific and commercialisation capabilities, or science education, and the country’s social and economic well-being.

There are:

  • five prizes for science and innovation (referred to as the Science Prizes)
  • two prizes for science, mathematics or technology teaching (referred to as the Science Teaching Prizes)

Join us at at 6pm AEDT on Wednesday 28 October to find out the recipients of the 2020 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.

Follow the conversation in the lead up to the announcement via @ScienceGovAu on Twitter or #pmprizes.

Read more

Contact us

Email pmprizes [at] (pmprizes)