This page belongs to: 2021 offshore petroleum exploration acreage release

Otway and Sorell Basin

There are 7 release areas in the Otway and Sorell Basin, offshore Victoria and Tasmania.

Release area locations:

  • Inner Otway Basin
  • Nelson Sub-basin
  • Sorell Basin

Regional geology

Maps and shapefiles

Maps show the release areas in bathymetric detail. They also include other permit locations, known petroleum accumulations and wells. Shapefiles show the areas in vector format for geographic information system (GIS) software.

See all release area maps in these basins [1.46MB PDF]

View high resolution release area maps:

Download shapefiles of all acreage release areas [87KB ZIP]

Block diagrams

Block diagrams show the coordinates of release area boundaries.

See all block diagrams in these basins [371KB PDF]

View block diagrams:

Block listings

Block listings provide graticular block numbers and 1:1,000,000 map sheet references that identify each release area.

See all block listings in these basins [662KB PDF] [48KB DOCX]

Marine parks

The following areas overlap with marine parks and international jurisdictions.

  • The Zeehan Multiple Use Zone (IUCN VI) overlaps with release area T21-1.
  • The Zeehan Special Purpose Zone (IUCN VI) overlaps with release areas T21-1, T21-2, T21-3 and T21-4.

How to bid

Work-program bidding closes on Thursday 3 March 2022.

Find out how to file your application.

Foreign investors need to submit evidence of a Foreign Investment Review Board decision with their application.

About these files

If you experience any difficulty accessing this information, please email