Australian Parliament House

Science Meets Parliament 2023: 7 to 23 March.

This year’s event is split into 2 parts:

  • Science Meets Parliament Online: a professional development program happening Tuesday 7 to Thursday 9 March.
  • Science Meets Parliament On The Hill: on Wednesday 22 March, the Hon Minister Ed Husic MP, Minister for Science and Technology will address the National Press Club. Followed by a National Gala Dinner at Australian Parliament House.

There will also be a special event on Thursday 23 March: Building the SABRE Biosecurity Alliance. This collaboration between Science and Technology Australia and the Department of Defence will provide delegates the opportunity to learn more about defence and national security projects.

Register for Science Meets Parliament 2023

You can register to attend the full online program as well as in-person for the National Press Club address and National Gala Dinner.

Key departmental speakers at Science Meets Parliament Online

We have been a proud sponsor of this event since its inception in 1999. This year, participants will hear from:  

Minister for Industry and Science
The minister will deliver the opening address on 7 March.
Meghan Quinn will participate in a panel discussion ‘Engaging effectively with policymakers’ on 7 March.
Deputy Secretary – Science and Technology
Duncan McIntyre will deliver the ‘Foundation Partner address’ on 8 March.
Australia’s Chief Scientist
Dr Cathy Foley will chair a panel discussion on ‘Masterclass in research commercialisation’ on 9 March.

Program highlights

The program features STEM stars giving their time to thought-provoking discussions. Some highlights include:  

  • Opening keynote from Dr Terence Tao, Global Australian of the Year 2022.
  • Keynote address from Adjunct Professor Dr Katalin Karikó.
  • First Nations Knowledges solving completed challenges chaired by Chris Matthews, Chair Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Mathematics Alliance.
  • Key skills for advocates (submissions and soundbites) featuring:
    • Anna-Maria Arabia, CEO Australian Academy of Science
    • Catriona Jackson, CEO Universities Australia
    • Luke Sheehy, Executive Director Australian technology Network.

Explore the full event program on the Science & Technology Australia website.