2019 Offshore Petroleum Exploration Acreage Release

Main content area
Publication Date: 
July 2019

There are 64 release areas for offshore oil and gas exploration.

This map of Australia shows the 2019 acreage release areas offshore of the Northern Territory, Western Australia, Victoria and the Ashmore and Cartier Islands. These are in 5 basins. 1) Bonaparte Basin, offshore northwestern Australia, 2) Browse Basin, offshore north-western Australia, 3) Northern Carnarvon Basin, offshore north-western Australia, 4) Otway Basin, offshore south-eastern Australia, and 5) Gippsland Basin, offshore south-eastern Australia. The map shows the shapes of the new acreage blocks in orange and the existing acreage in grey.

View 2019 acreage release areas on the National Offshore Petroleum Information Management System (NOPIMS) interactive map.

Geoscience Australia partnered with us to provide geological information to support this release.

Maps and field outlines are provided from GPinfo, a Petrosys Pty Ltd product.

Acreage release areas

About the release

The release areas offer the petroleum industry a variety of investment opportunities.

Industry nominated the release areas. Then we consulted with the public, governments and stakeholders to determine the final release.

Bidding in this release closed on 5 March 2020.

Read more about the annual acreage release process.

View feedback from stakeholders provided during public consultation.

Read more

See also

See the 2020 Offshore Petroleum Exploration Acreage Release

Contact us

Email Petroleum.Exploration@industry.gov.au

Connect with us

Subscribe to Australian Petroleum News for updates on offshore oil and gas activities