This feedback is anonymous. Please Contact us if you would like a response.

Main content area

The Australia-New Zealand SKA Coordination Committee (ANZSCC) Science Advisory Committee (SAC) supports the delivery of Square Kilometre Array project.


  • provides scientific advice to the ANZSCC
  • provides advice that supports the delivery and protection of the Australian SKA site
  • contributes to the project’s design and implementation

The SAC meets at least 3 times each year.

Read about the roles and responsibilities in the SAC Terms of Reference [120KB PDF] [17KB DOCX]

SAC membership

The SAC members have diverse radio astronomy and science backgrounds.

Dr Phil Edwards (SAC Chair)

Head of Science Operations

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) Astronomy and Space Science

Dr Cathryn Trott

Associate Professor of Radio Astronomy

Curtin University

Professor Lister Staveley-Smith

Science Director

International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR)

The University of Western Australia

Professor Naomi McClure-Griffiths

Professor of Astronomy

The Australian National University

Professor Andrew Hopkins

Professor of Astronomy

Macquarie University

Professor Elaine Sadler

Chief Scientist

Australia Telescope National Facility, CSIRO

Dr Willem van Straten

Senior Lecturer

Institute for Radio Astronomy and Space Research

Auckland University of Technology

Read more

Read updates from the SKA Project Director.

Contact us


Connect with us

Last updated: 8 November 2018

Content ID: 46071