Main content area

National Blockchain Roadmap Steering Committee

The Steering Committee oversees implementation of Australia’s National Blockchain Roadmap.

The committee brings together representatives and experts from government, academia and industry to realise the opportunities of blockchain technology in Australia.


  • Narelle Luchetti, Chair, Head of our Digital Economy and Technology Division
  • Steve Vallas, Deputy Chair, Chief Executive Officer, Blockchain Australia
  • Peter Alexander, Chief Digital Officer, Digital Transformation Agency
  • Adrianna Belotti, Head of Marketing and Community, Prismatik
  • Dr Chris Berg, Co-Director, RMIT Blockchain Innovation Hub
  • Katie Ford, Public Sector Data and AI Specialist, Microsoft
  • Hannah Glass, Senior Associate, King & Wood Mallesons
  • Peter Hiom, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Australian Stock Exchange
  • Leanne Kemp, Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Everledger; Queensland Chief Entrepreneur
  • Prof Jason Potts, Director, RMIT Blockchain Innovation Hub
  • Dr Mark Staples, Senior Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO Data61

Working groups

Four working groups support the committee to:

  • explore the current state of identified use cases, and economic opportunities they present
  • identify technical, regulatory or other barriers to adopting blockchain

The Working Groups are observed by various government agencies and by Standards Australia, to ensure that cross-cutting issues are reported back to relevant forums.

Supply chains

The Supply Chains Working Group was established in August 2020. The group will investigate the potential for blockchain technology to support trusted supply chains, with an initial focus on the agriculture sector.

Steering Committee Co-chairs:

  • Katie Ford
  • Dr Mark Staples

Members include:

  • Dr Elnaz Irannezhad, Principal Professional Future Transport Systems, Australian Road Research Board
  • Laurent Lambert, Blockchain Supply Chain Lead, IBM
  • Bridie Ohlsson, Chief Executive Officer, Geora
  • Adam Robinson, Manager Industry Engagement (Indigenous Special Projects), Queensland University of Technology, and Founder/Director, IndigiLedger
  • Scott Waller, Oceania Assurance Blockchain Leader, Ernst & Young

Key contributors include:

  • David Hannam, General Manager Government and International Trade, NSW Business Chamber
  • Sam Haouchar, APAC Supply Chain Centre of Excellence Lead, PPG Australia
  • Justine Howard, Lecturer, Notre Dame University
  • Susan Lindeque, CEO and Founder, Avestix Group
  • Nicholas McTaggart, Murinbin Consultancy Pty Ltd
  • Shaj Narayanan, Chief Executive Officer, deoblockchain
  • Laszlo Peter, Head of Blockchain Services Asia Pacific, KPMG
  • Christopher Quinn, Program Manager, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • Nathalie Taquet, Chief Executive Officer, eBottli


The Credentialing Working Group was established in August 2020. The group will investigate using blockchain to support credentialing in the education sector.

Steering Committee Co-chairs:

  • Dr Chris Berg
  • Prof Jason Potts

Members include:

  • Nick Byrne, Director, TypeHuman
  • Katrina Donaghy, Chief Executive Officer, Civic Ledger
  • Joelle Hawa, Researcher and Lecturer in Entrepeneurship and Innovation, Adelaide University
  • Qinghua Lu, Senior Research Scientist, CSIRO Data61
  • Jenny Luca, Head of ICT Innovation and Learning, Camberwell Grammar School
  • Christopher Napoli, Director Technology Consulting, Deloitte
  • John Phillips, Partner, 460degrees
  • Amanda Robinson, Head of Social Innovation, Australian Red Cross
  • Stefano Tempesta, Regional Director, Microsoft

Key contributors include:

  • Adam Brimo, Chief Executive Officer, OpenLearning
  • Aisha Dani, Co-Founder, Sistrv8
  • Eoghan Hogan, Director of Product Innovation for Australia, China and New Zealand, Torrens University Australia
  • Claudio Lisco, Director of Strategic Initiatives Australia & South-East Asia, ConsenSys
  • Alexia Maddox, Lecturer in Communication, Deakin University
  • Harris Monos, Senior Consultant, IBM
  • Gendry Morales, CEO and Co-Founder, FlightPlan
  • James Murray-Beckman, Chief Operating Officer, Digitary


The Cybersecurity Working Group was established in October 2020. The group will investigate the potential for blockchain technology to bolster cybersecurity.

Steering Committee Co-chairs:

  • Adriana Belotti
  • Steve Vallas

Members include:

  • Judy Anderson, Government Relations and Advocacy Lead, AustCyber
  • Prof Peter Eklund, Strategic Centre for Cybersecurity Research & Innovation, Deakin University
  • Aimee Maree Forsstrom, Software Implementation Consultant, Aficionado Tech
  • Karin Geraghty, Principal Consultant, Stratdigi
  • Mark Hofman, Chief Technical Officer, CyberCX
  • Ryan Kris, Associate Director, BDO
  • Kaia Myers-Stewart, Co-Founder & Chief Product Officer, 5th Dimension Security
  • Kelsie Nabben, Researcher, RMIT
  • Katherine Robins, Partner, Cybersecurity, KPMG

Key contributors include:

  • Daniel Knight, Partner, K&L Gates
  • Sushmita Ruj, Senior Research Scientist, CSIRO Data61
  • Dr Jana Schmitz, Technical Advisor, Assurance & Emerging Technologies, CPA Australia
  • Tony Surtees, Chairman, Laava
  • Stephen Wilson, Managing Director, Lockstep Consulting and Principal Analyst, Constellation Research
  • Medhi Zerouali, Co-Founder & Director, Sigma Prime


The RegTech Working Group was established in October 2020. The group will investigate the potential for blockchain technology to aid businesses in meeting their regulatory compliance obligations in more secure and efficient ways.

Steering Committee Chair:

  • Hannah Glass

Members include:

  • Nick Armstrong, Co-Founder and Director, Identitii
  • Tim Bass, CEO, Block8 Technologies
  • A/Prof Vidy Potdar, Director, Blockchain R&D Lab, Curtin University
  • Rebecca Schott-Guppy, CEO, Fintech Australia
  • Deborah Young, CEO, RegTech Association

Key contributors include:

  • Nick Addison, Developer, ConsenSys
  • Michael Bacina, Partner, Financial Services and FinTech Group, Blockchain Group, Piper Alderman
  • Simon Cant, Managing Partner, Reinventure
  • Karina Honey, ICT Director, Resources Safety and Health Queensland, and PhD Candidate, UQ
  • Andy Hutchings Broso, Founder, BC Gateways
  • Jenny Leung, Attorney, Ketsal
  • Liong Lim, General Counsel & Chief Risk Officer, Grow Super
  • Saleem Malik, Sessional Academic and PhD (IT) Candidate, Federation University Australia
  • Cindy Nicholson, CEO, SerendipID
  • Rob Morris, CEO & Founder, Prismatik
  • Joni Pirovich, Special Counsel, Tax, Blockchain & Digital Assets, Mills Oakley
  • Dr Philippa Ryan, barrister and senior lecturer, Australian National University College of Law
  • Indra Suppiah, Government Relations Lead (APAC), R3

Read more

Contact us

Email blockchain [at] 

See also

Last updated: 2 March 2021

Content ID: 67255