Main content area

Australian SKA Coordination Committee

The Australian SKA Coordination Committee (ASCC) supports the global SKA project.

Roles and responsibilities

Committee responsibilities include:

  • maintaining governance arrangements between project partners
  • ensuring the readiness of the Australian SKA site
  • contributing to project design and implementation
  • providing policy frameworks.

Read about strategic aims and relationships in the ASCC Charter [164KB PDF] [87KB DOCX]

ASCC membership

ASCC membership reflects Australia’s SKA project partners and the scientific community.

  • Mrs Janean Richards (Chair, representing the Australian Government), Head of Science and Commercialisation Policy Division
  • Professor Peter Quinn (Deputy Chair, representing the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research), Executive Director, International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR)
  • Mrs Linda Dawson (representing the Government of Western Australia), Deputy Director General, Office of Science, Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation
  • Dr Douglas Bock (representing the CSIRO), Director, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
  • Dr Phil Edwards (ASCC Science Advisory Committee Chair), CSIRO SKA Project Scientist, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
  • Professor Naomi McClure-Griffiths (Australian member of the Science and Engineering Advisory Committee), ACR Future Fellow, Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Australian National University
  • Mr Trevor Danos AM (Expert member)
  • Mr Mark McAuley (Expert member), Chief Executive Officer, Astronomy Australia Limited
  • Professor Steven Tingay (Independent member), Deputy Executive Director, International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR)

Science Advisory Committee

The ASCC Science Advisory Committee supports the ASCC and provides scientific advice and support.

Read more

Contact us


Connect with us

Last updated: 11 April 2022

Content ID: 46066