Main navigation
Main content area

ASCC Science Advisory Committee

The Australian SKA Coordination Committee (ASCC) Science Advisory Committee (SAC) supports the delivery of the SKA project.

Roles and responsibilities

The committee:

  • provides scientific advice to the ASCC
  • provides advice that supports the delivery and protection of the Australian SKA site
  • contributes to the project’s design and implementation.

The SAC meets at least 3 times each year.

Read about roles and responsibilities in the SAC Terms of Reference [120KB PDF] [17KB DOCX]

SAC members

The SAC members have diverse radio astronomy and science backgrounds.

  • Dr Phil Edwards (Chair), Head of Science Operations, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
  • Professor Elaine Sadler FAA, ATNF Chief Scientist, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
  • Professor Naomi McClure-Griffiths, Professor of Astronomy, The Australian National University
  • Dr Cathryn Trott, Associate Professor of Radio Astronomy, Curtin University
  • Professor Lister Staveley-Smith, Science Director, International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, The University of Western Australia
  • Dr Douglas Bock, Director, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
  • Dr Stuart Ryder, Adjunct Fellow, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Macquarie University

Read more

Contact us


Connect with us

Last updated: 19 July 2021

Content ID: 46071