This feedback is anonymous. Please Contact us if you would like a response.

Resources 2030 Taskforce

Main content area

Appointed by the Minister for Resources and Northern Australia, the Resources 2030 Taskforce examines and makes recommendations on how Australia’s resource sector can remain globally competitive and sustainable.

The taskforce is focusing on policy areas that can:

  • attract investment
  • contribute to regional economic progress
  • build community support
  • simplify business
  • find new minerals
  • ensure Australia gets best use of its mineral resources before they are exported

It will identify bold, attainable reforms to ensure the resource sector’s competitiveness and sustainability to 2030. The taskforce will present its findings to the Minister by the end of August 2018.

The Australian Government will use the proposals put forward by the taskforce as a basis to develop a National Resources Statement.


  • Mr Andrew Cripps, former Queensland Minister for Natural Resources (Chair)
  • Mr Mike Henry, President Operations, Minerals Australia, BHP
  • Ms Joyce McCulloch, Mayor, Mount Isa City Council
  • Dr Chris Pigram, former CEO of Geoscience Australia
  • Mr Will Robinson, Managing Director, Encounter Resources Limited
  • Ms Erica Smyth AC, Chair, NOPSEMA Advisory Board
  • Mr Paul Flynn, CEO and Managing Director, Whitehaven Coal
  • Prof. Marcia Langton, Foundation Chair, Australian Indigenous Studies, Faculty of Medicine, University of Melbourne
  • Ms Adrienne Rourke, General Manager, Resource Industry Network 
  • Prof. Stephen Smith, Professor of International Law, University of Western Australian

Read more

Contact us


Follow us

Keep up-to-date with Resources on Twitter.


Last updated: 6 July 2018

Content ID: 43451