This feedback is anonymous. Please Contact us if you would like a response.

Main content area

The Office of Northern Australia's policy analysis and advice supports the continued development of northern Australia.

Reporting to the Minister for Resources and Northern Australia, we oversee the implementation of northern Australia agenda initiatives including the Our North Our Future: White Paper on Developing Northern Australia.

Ministerial Forum on Northern Development

A Northern Australia Strategic Partnership, which includes the Prime Minister, provides high-level leadership on the northern Australia agenda.

A Ministerial Forum on Northern Development brings Australian Government Ministers, and Ministers from the Western Australian, Northern Territory and Queensland governments together to provide oversight and direction on the development of the north.

The forum, which is led by the Minister for Resources and Northern Australia, met in:

  • September 2017 in Darwin, Northern Territory
  • April 2018 in Kununurra, Western Australia
  • November 2018 in Mount Isa, Queensland

Advisory group

The Northern Australia Indigenous Reference Group advises the government on priorities for northern Australia development. The group brings together representatives from across the north.

Our partners

Our office works closely with our department and:

Federal government

  • Attorney-General’s Department
  • Australian Trade and Investment Commission
  • Cooperative Research Centre for Developing Northern Australia
  • Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
  • Department of Defence
  • Department of Education and Training
  • Department of the Environment and Energy
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Department of Home Affairs
  • Department of Infrastructure , Regional Development and Cities
  • Department of Jobs and Small Business
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Interdepartmental Committee on Northern Australia
  • Joint Standing Committee on Northern Australia
  • Major Projects Facilitation Agency
  • Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility
  • National Health and Medical Research Council
  • The Treasury

State government

  • Government of Western Australia
  • Northern Territory Government
  • Queensland Government

Our offices

  • Head office: Level 1, Development House, 76 The Esplanade, Darwin NT 0800
  • Townsville office: 155 Hugh Street, Currajong QLD 4812
  • Canberra office: Industry House, 10 Binara Street, Canberra ACT 2600
  • Cairns office: Level 7, Citi Central, 46-48 Sheridan Street, Cairns QLD 4870
  • Broome office: 4/20 Hammersley St, Broome WA 6725

Statements and communiqués

Read more

Connect with us

Contact us

Last updated: 9 August 2019

Content ID: 42936