The annual Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science will return to Parliament House in Canberra for the first time since 2019.

The 2022 prize recipients will be announced at a presentation dinner on Monday 21 November 2022. Prizes will be presented by the Hon Anthony Albanese MP, Prime Minister of Australia, and the Hon Ed Husic MP, Minister for Industry and Science.

The prestigious Prime Ministers Prizes for Science are presented to Australian citizens or permanent residents who have either:

  • made a significant contribution to the advancement of science
  • translated scientific knowledge into a commercial product of economic, social or environmental benefit
  • have demonstrated excellence in science teaching.

Each recipient’s achievements are testament to the enormous commitment shown to their field over many years. They inspire other scientists and researchers to keep striving towards their goals.

They also inspire young people, and people from all walks of life, to take up one of the many rewarding careers science in Australia has to offer.

The prizes are presented across 7 categories.

Prizes for research:

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Science
  • Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year
  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year

Prizes for innovation:

  • Prime Minister's Prize for Innovation
  • Prize for New Innovators

Prizes for science, mathematics or technology teaching:

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools

What previous recipients say

'My philosophy for teaching is to find as many ways as possible to connect students with real world experiences. By doing so, we can prepare them to be ‘agents of change’ in the future. We can equip them with the 21st century skills they need, such as problem-solving and collaboration.'

– Mrs Megan Hayes, recipient of the 2021 Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools

'To receive the Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation means a great deal to me. It’s an extraordinary process to reach the point where innovation succeeds. The process of innovation is a roller-coaster; there are ups and downs, but it’s always a journey forward. This recognition is testament to the many people who have been part of this journey with me. Most importantly, it’s a celebration of science and innovation in our country.'

– Professor Anthony Weiss AM, recipient of the 2021 Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation

'Receiving the Prime Minister's Prize for Science is a wonderful statement about the importance of mathematics. It also recognises the achievements of me and my colleagues and students in the mathematics of symmetry.'

– Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger AC, recipient of the 2019 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science

Stay updated

Get the latest news on the prizes on Twitter, Facebook or LinkedIn. Join the conversation online by using the hashtag #pmprizes.