Professor Yuerui (Larry) Lu 2023 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year recipient

Thank you to everyone who nominated someone inspiring for the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science - Australia's most prestigious annual awards for scientific research, research-based innovation and science teaching.

Your nomination is a meaningful way to show how much you value their efforts, achievements and the positive impact they are making to their field.

What’s next for 2024 nominations?

We will assess nominations against the eligibility criteria. If successful, we’ll forward the nomination to independent selection committees. They will assess eligible nominations against the assessment criteria, compare and shortlist nominees.

If your nominee is shortlisted, we’ll invite you to participate in the next stage. At that point, we’ll ask you for more information to support your nomination. 

For science teaching prizes nominations, you and 2 supporters will need to prepare a more detailed nomination addressing the assessment criteria. For science prizes nominations, we’ll need supporter statements to send to independent referees with relevant experience. They will verify claims you made in the nomination. 

The Minister for Industry and Science will make the final decision on the prize recipients.

If your nominee is successful in their prize category, we’ll notify you and your nominee in strict confidence. We will also invite successful nominees to receive their prizes at a formal presentation.

Who will you nominate for 2025?

It’s not too early to think about the outstanding Australian scientist, innovator or teacher you can nominate for the 2025 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science!

We need your help to celebrate their work and the contribution they make to Australian science. Nominating someone is a wonderful way to recognise a peer and the valuable work they are doing.

We’ll announce nomination dates for the 2025 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science later this year. 

Get the latest updates on the prizes

Follow us on Twitter/X, Facebook, LinkedIn and #PMPrizes for all the latest news about the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science including the announcement of the 2024 recipients.