Photo of an offshore oil platform

The Australian Government has announced 10 release areas for the 2022 Offshore Petroleum Exploration Acreage Release. Companies can bid on release areas until Thursday 2 March 2023.

Areas are located across 4 basins offshore of the Northern Territory, Western Australia, the Territory of the Ashmore and Cartier Islands, and Victoria. The basins are the:

  • Bonaparte Basin
  • Browse Basin
  • Northern Carnarvon Basin
  • Gippsland Basin.

Industry nominated the release areas. We consulted with the public, governments and stakeholders to determine which nominated areas to release.

See release area information and bidding instructions for the 2022 acreage release.

Geoscience Australia partnered with us to provide geological information for this release.

Acreage release webinar

Learn more about the release areas in the 2022 petroleum acreage release launch webinar. Email us if you need a transcript of this webinar.