A new National Quantum Advisory Committee will provide strategic advice on growing Australia’s quantum sector.

The committee is made up of leaders from business, science, technology and government. They have expertise across research and development, commercialisation, investment, supply chains and national security.

Chaired by Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Cathy Foley, the advisory committee will guide the government’s National Quantum Strategy to drive industry growth. It will also focus national efforts to bolster Australia’s international reputation as a quantum research and commercialisation powerhouse.

The advisory committee members are:

  • Professor Michael Biercuk, Q-CTRL, University of Sydney
  • Ms Clare Birch, Blackbird
  • Dr Simon Devitt, UTS, h-Bar
  • Dr Cathy Foley, Australia’s Chief Scientist
  • Professor Bronwyn Fox, CSIRO Chief Scientist
  • Professor Lloyd Hollenberg, University of Melbourne IBM Quantum Hub
  • Professor Andre Luiten, QuantX Labs, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Tanya Monro, Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist
  • Professor Ed Santow, Human Technology Institute, UTS
  • Dr Vikram Sharma, QuintessenceLabs and Australian Quantum Alliance
  • Professor Michelle Simmons, Silicon Quantum Computing, UNSW
  • Mr Mark Stickells, Pawsey Supercomputing Centre
  • Professor Peter Turner, Sydney Quantum Academy, Macquarie University
  • Ms Jennifer Westacott, Business Council of Australia
  • Professor Andrew White, University of Queensland and ARC Centre for Engineered Quantum Systems.