Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science 2023 logo with medallion and Australian Government crest. Decorative background with sparkles.

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and science teaching.

Through their achievements, recipients inspire all Australians to embrace the world of science. They become role models for future generations of scientists, innovators and educators. They also receive between $50,000 and $250,000 and gain the opportunity to share their important work.

There are 7 categories of prizes.

Science teaching prizes:

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools 

Science prizes:

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Science 
  • Prime Minister's Prize for Innovation 
  • Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year
  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year 
  • Prize for New Innovators 

Announcing 2023 recipients

We’ll announce 2023 recipients on 16 October. Follow us on Twitter/X, Facebook, LinkedIn and #PMPrizes for all the latest. There’ll be live reveals on Twitter/X and Facebook on the night.

Nominations for 2024 open soon

Each year, we encourage you to nominate diverse candidates, including those from a different range of backgrounds, disciplines, career stages and geographical regions. We’ll be opening 2024 nominations soon. You can start thinking about the outstanding scientist, innovator and educator you want to nominate now.

Nominating someone for a prize is a meaningful acknowledgement of their contribution to science, innovation and teaching.