Main navigation
Main content area

Growth Centres Advisory Committee

The Growth Centres Advisory Committee provides advice on the Industry Growth Centres Initiative.

Our members draw on direct experience from the Growth Centres and working within industry. They advise on driving cultural change and overcoming barriers to innovation, productivity and growth.

The Committee is made up of the Growth Centre chairs and up to 4 independent members.

Independent Members

Mr John Grill AO

Current positions:

  • Chairman, WorleyParsons
  • Board member, Neuroscience Australia


  • 40 years’ experience in the resources and energy industry
  • Worked on many of the world’s largest mining and infrastructure projects
  • Chief Executive Officer, WorleyParsons
  • Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to engineering, business, minerals, energy and power supply industries

Ms Carolyn Hewson AO

Current positions:

  • Director, BHP Billiton
  • Director, Stockland Corporation


  • 30 years’ experience in the finance sector working in areas of financial markets, risk and investor management
  • Executive Director, Schroders Australia
  • Panel member, Australian Government Financial System Inquiry 2014
  • Board director: Westpac Banking Corporation, AGL and AGL Energy, AMP Limited, BT Investment Management, CSR Limited, South Australia Water, and the Economic Development Board of South Australia
  • Officer of the Order of Australia for service to the community through support for charitable organisations, particularly the Young Women’s Christian Association, and to business

Mr Andrew Liveris AO

Current positions:

  • Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of DowDuPont
  • Director, IBM
  • Vice Chair, Business Roundtable
  • Member: Executive Committee, President's Export Council, and the Board of Trustees of the United States Council for International Business


  • 40-year veteran of Dow and recognised global business leader
  • Experience in manufacturing, engineering, sales, marketing, and business and general management
  • Chairman, US Business Council
  • Chemical engineering graduate, University of Queensland
  • Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to international business through senior roles with multinational organisations, as a supporter of Australia-US educational and cultural relations, and to the community

Ms Catherine Livingstone AO

Current positions:

  • Chair, Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Chancellor, University of Technology Sydney
  • Director: WorleyParsons Limited, George Institute for Global Health, and Saluda Medical Pty Ltd
  • President, Australian Museum Trust
  • Member, Commonwealth Science Council


  • Member: Prime Minister's Business Advisory Council, Advisory Panel for Australia in the Asian Century White Paper and the NSW Government Innovation and Productivity Council
  • President: Chief Executive Women, and the Business Council of Australia
  • Chairman: Telstra Corporation, CSIRO and the Australian Business Foundation
  • Board member: Macquarie Group, Goodman Fielder, and Rural Press
  • Chief Executive Officer of Cochlear Limited
  • Officer of the Order of Australia for service to the development of Australian science, technology and innovation policies, to the business sector through leadership and management roles and as a contributor to professional organisations

Growth Center Chairs

Mr Paul Cooper

Chair, Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre

Current positions:

  • Executive Chair, Rinstrum Group
  • Director, Vadain International Ltd
  • Board member and Chair, Audit and Risk Committee, Children’s Health, Queensland Hospital and Health Service
  • Chair, Queensland Health Audit and Risk Committee


  • Director and Deputy Chair, Export Council of Australia
  • Board member with 30 years’ experience in manufacturing, professional services, government and not-for-profit
  • Accountant

Mr Doug Elix AO

Joint Chair, Cyber Security Growth Centre


  • Board member, National ICT Australia (now Data61+)
  • Senior Vice President and group executive: IBM worldwide sales and distribution operations, and IBM Global Services
  • Officer of the Order of Australia for service to the information technology and services industry internationally, to the business sector through facilitating the introduction of world’s best technology in many companies, and as a mentor to industry professionals

Mr Adrian Turner

Joint Chair, Cyber Security Centre


  • Chief Executive Officer of Data61 (an entity of the CSIRO)
  • Member: UTS Sydney, Business School Advisory Board, and the World Economic Forum IoT working group
  • Managing Director and Co-Founder of Borondi Group
  • Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of smart phone and Internet of Things (IoT) security company Mocana Corporation
  • Profit and loss responsibility for Philips Electronics connected devices infrastructure
  • Chairman,

Dr Michele Allan

Chair, Food and Agribusiness Growth Centre

Current positions:

  • Chair, Trusted Autonomous Systems Defence CRC
  • Non-Executive Director, Dairy Food Safety Victoria
  • Non-Executive Director, Wine Australia
  • Non-Executive Director, Food Agility CRC
  • Non-Executive Director, CSIRO
  • Chair, Meat and Livestock Australia
  • Chair, Apple and Pear Australia Limited
  • Chancellor, Charles Sturt University
  • Non-Executive Director, Grain Growers Limited


  • Over 25 years’ experience working in the food industry
  • Chairman of the Board: Grains and Legumes Nutrition Council and William Angliss Institute
  • Chair: Tasmanian Horticultural Taskforce, Wheat Export Advisory Taskforce and Cleaner Technology Investment Committee Food and Foundries
  • Non-Executive Director for organisations including Innovation and Science Australia, the Grape and Wine Research and Development Corporation and Food Standards Australia New Zealand

Ms Sue MacLeman

Chair, Medical Technologies and Pharmaceuticals Growth Centre

Current positions:

  • Chair Oventus Medical Ltd
  • Chair of Anatara Lifesciences Ltd
  • Chair of Tali Digital Ltd
  • Non-Executive Director of Palla Pharma Ltd, Planet Innovation and Omico.


  • Over 30 years’ experience as a pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical technology executive
  • Senior roles in corporate, medical, commercial and business development
  • Served as CEO and Board member of several ASX and NASDAQ listed companies in the sector
  • Appointed to a number of academic and government advisory committees
  • Broad commercial experience is underpinned by graduate qualifications in pharmacy and post graduate qualifications in corporate governance, commercial law, business administration and marketing.

Mr Lyle Bruce

Chair, Mining Equipment, Technology and Services Growth Centre

Current positions:

  • Chairman: MineWare, SmartCap and Blast Movement Technologies
  • Partner, Jolimont GMS


  • 35 years in the mining and processing industry
  • Chief Executive Officer, GroundProbe
  • Worked with Mount Isa Mine and Rio Tinto, including running MIM Process Technologies
  • Winner: Ernest & Young Entrepreneur of the Year, and the Warren Centre Hero of Innovation

Mr Ken Fitzpatrick

Chair, Oil, Gas and Energy Resources Growth Centre


  • 30 years’ experience in the oil and gas industry in Australia and overseas, holding a range of senior positions responsible for petroleum exploration, development, production and decommissioning
  • Chief Executive, PTTEP Australasia 2011-14
  • Worked in senior positions at Ampolex, Mobil, Nexen, and Woodside
  • WA State Chairman, Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association

Read more

Read the Growth Centres Advisory Committee Terms of Reference [26KB PDF]  [26KB DOCX]

Connect with us

Join us on Facebook for the latest news and events @Industry Growth Centres

Contact us


Last updated: 15 June 2021

Content ID: 43356