Celebrating the 2021 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

Main content area


11 October 2021

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious awards for:

  • outstanding achievements in scientific research and research-based innovation
  • excellence in science, mathematics or technology teaching.

This year’s Prizes will be presented in an online public event on Wednesday 3 November at 6:00pm to 7:00pm AEDT.

The achievements of recipients span diverse disciplines and career stages. The Prizes are an important tribute to Australia’s world-class science community, and to the critical role that science teachers play in inspiring the next generation of Australian scientists and innovators.

Prize recipients are awarded up to a total of $750,000 each year. Each prize recipient receives a medallion, lapel pin, prize money and an award certificate. The medallions were designed by internationally renowned artist Wojciech Pietranik and produced by the Royal Australian Mint.

The Prizes are presented across seven categories, including:

  • five prizes for science and innovation, and
  • two prizes for science, mathematics or technology teaching.

To discover who this year’s outstanding recipients will be, watch at industry.gov.au/pmprizes at 6:00pm AEDT on Wednesday 3 November.

For real-time updates of recipients as they are announced on the night, follow on Twitter @ScienceGovAu, Facebook (@IndustryGovAu) and LinkedIn (/department-of-industry). You can also search updates and posts via the hashtag, #pmprizes.

Read more

Connect with us

  • Get the latest news about the 2021 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science via @ScienceGovAu on Twitter, @IndustryGovAu on Facebook and /department-of-industry on LinkedIn.
  • Participate in the conversation on social media by using the hashtag #pmprizes.

Contact us