Australian Space Agency signs with Indian Space Research Organisation

The agreement will encourage collaboration between both countries across civil space activities.
Two men standing in front of a television, with a third man on the screen. The man on the left holds the signed documents.

Left to right: Enrico Palermo, Head of the ASA, Dr K. Sivan, Chair of ISRO and Secretary of the Indian Department of Space, The Hon Barry O’Farrell AO, High Commissioner of Australia to India, His Excellency A Gitesh Sarma, of India to Australia

The Australian Space Agency and Indian Space Research Organisation have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). This confirms interest from both organisations to increase their cooperation across civil space activities.

The agreement will encourage collaboration between both countries in the fields of:

  • civil space research
  • technology and capability development
  • educational activities
  • the use of outer space for peaceful purposes.

Head of the Australian Space Agency Enrico Palermo said the MOU symbolises the importance of the strong collaborative partnership between the Agency and ISRO, which will look to identify new areas of cooperation in space technology, applications, education and outreach.

“ISRO’s experience in spacecraft and systems engineering and ground stations to support space activities makes them a strategic partner for Australia as we grow our own national space capability and open doors for Australian business internationally,” Mr Palermo said.

“Today’s signing signals a valuable opportunity for Australia to play a role in the Gaganyaan missions, further engage industry to grow our sector, and expand cooperation with India in space, science and research activities in the years to come.”

The Memorandum of Understanding between the Australian Government and the Government of the Republic of India was signed by Head of the Australian Space Agency, Enrico Palermo and Chair of ISRO and Head of the Indian Department of Space, Dr K Sivan on 17 February 2021.