2019 prize recipients

Main content area

The Prime Minister and the Minister for Industry, Science and Technology awarded the PM Prizes on 16 October 2019. This year marks 20 years of the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.

Photo of the PM Prize recipients of the 2019 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science at the award ceremony with the Prime Minister and Minister for Industry, Science and Technology.

PM Prize awards. Back row left to right: Professor Guillaume Lessene, Professor Andrew Roberts, The Hon Minister Karen Andrews MP, Minister for Industry, Science and Technology, Professor David Huang, Dr Luke Campbell. Front row left to right: Associate Professor Elizabeth New, Dr Samantha Moyle, Mrs Sarah Finney, The Hon Scott Morrison, Prime Minister of Australia, Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger, Associate Professor Laura Mackay, Associate Professor Peter Czabotar.

Prizes for research

Prizes for innovation

  • Prime Minister's Prize for Innovation awarded to Associate Professor Peter Czabotar, Professor David Huang, Professor Guillaume Lessene and Professor Andrew Roberts for their roles in inventing, developing and commercialising a breakthrough anti-cancer drug.
  • Prize for New Innovators awarded to Dr Luke Campbell for inventing and commercialising headphones that learn and adapt to your unique hearing, delivering a personalised audio experience.

Prizes for science, mathematics or technology teaching

Read more

PM Prizes for Science logo: Celebrating 20 years.