This feedback is anonymous. Please Contact us if you would like a response.

Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science 2015: recipient citations

Main content area
Publication Date: 
October 2015

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science recognise the outstanding contributions our scientists, innovators and science teachers make to Australia's scientific and commercialisation capabilities.

The 2015 prizes were awarded by the Prime Minister on 21 October 2015.

2015 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science winners. (Left to right) Graeme Jameson, Jane Elith, Cyrille Boyer, Minister Christopher Pyne, Australia’s Chief Scientist Ian Chubb, Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull, Rebecca Johnson, Ken Silburn, Graham Farquhar.

Prime Minister's Prize for Science

Awarded to Professor Graham Farquhar AO [578PDF] [141KB DOCX] for modelling photosynthesis, the world’s most important biological reaction.

Prize for Innovation

Awarded to Laureate Professor Graeme Jameson AO [572KB PDF] [148KM DOCX] for his development of flotation technologies that have added billions of dollars to the value of Australia’s mineral and energy industries.

Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year

Awarded to Dr Jane Elith [580KB PDF] [142KB DOCX] for her contributions to environmental management worldwide.

Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year

Awarded to Associate Professor Cyrille Boyer [589KB PDF] [157KB DOCX] for his contributions to polymer science, nanotechnology and nanomedicine.

Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools

Awarded to Mrs Rebecca Johnson [581KB PDF] [145KB DOCX] from Windaroo State School in Queensland, for initiating a specialist science program within her school featuring innovative and imaginative approaches which has been replicated in many other schools.

Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools

Awarded to Dr Kenneth Silburn [577KB PDF] [143KB DOCX] from Casula High School in New South Wales for his leadership in science teaching.

Read more

Contact us