Main content area

Ownership of intellectual property rights

© Commonwealth of Australia 2019

Unless otherwise noted, copyright (and any other intellectual property rights, if any) in this publication is owned by the Commonwealth of Australia.

Creative Commons licence

Creative commons logo

All material in this publication is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence, save for content supplied by third parties, logos, any material protected by trademark or otherwise noted in this publication, and the Commonwealth Coat of Arms.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence is a standard form licence agreement that allows you to copy, distribute, transmit and adapt this publication provided you attribute the work. A summary of the licence terms is available from

This notice excludes the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, any logos and any material protected by trade mark or otherwise noted in the publication, from the application of the Creative Commons licence. These are all forms of property which the Commonwealth cannot or usually would not license others to use.


Content contained herein should be attributed as Commonwealth of Australia Advancing Women in STEM.

ISBN: 978-1-925050-09-7 (online)

Produced by: Department of Industry, Innovation and Science


The following images are featured in the PDF publication.

Cover, clockwise from top left: Victoria Coleman (NMI supplied image), Questacon Smart Skills Participant (in image) Peter Smith (photographer), Colleen MacMillan (CSIRO supplied image), Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith (personal image), Salam Matalka (NMI supplied image), Ronika Powers (personal image).

  • Dr Cathy Foley (CSIRO supplied image).
  • Claire and Imogen (Curious Minds supplied image).
  • Leanne Smith (personal image).
  • Tim Reed (Kit Haseldon).
  • Edith Cowan University SAGE awards ceremony (Edith Cowan University supplied image).
  • Dr Tien Huynh (personal image).
  • Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith (CSIRO supplied image).

Contact us