This feedback is anonymous. Please Contact us if you would like a response.

Main content area

Meet the members of our Executive Team.

Our Secretary, Dr Heather Smith PSM

Dr Heather Smith was appointed Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science in September 2017. She previously held the positions of Secretary of the Department of Communications and the Arts and Deputy Secretary in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Heather was responsible for innovation policy and public data policy and headed the Prime Minister's Taskforce on Innovation. In October 2013 she was appointed by Prime Minister Abbott as Australia's G20 Sherpa, a role she held during Australia's Presidency. Prior to this Heather had responsibility in the Department for economic, industry, infrastructure, environment and strategic policy matters in her role as Deputy Secretary Economic and Strategy.

From August 2010 to May 2013, Heather was Deputy Secretary in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade with responsibility for the Americas and Africa, North Asia, international security issues, G20 and the international economy, and information technology issues. She also served as an advisory member of then Prime Minister Gillard's Australia in the Asian Century White Paper.

Between February 2005 and August 2010, Heather was Deputy Director-General, Office of National Assessments (Australia's peak intelligence assessment agency) with responsibility, at various times, for North Asia, South Asia, the Pacific, transnational issues, international economic issues, corporate issues, and foreign intelligence coordination.

Between 2003–2005, Heather held positions at the Australian Treasury as General Manager, G20 and APEC Secretariat and General Manager, International Economy Division.

From 2000–2003, she was Assistant Director-General, International Economy Branch, Office of National Assessment.

Before joining the public service Heather was an academic working on North Asia at the Australian National University, holding various position from 1994–2000. She also worked at the Reserve Bank of Australia from 1988–1990.

Heather holds a Bachelor of Economics (First Class Honours) from the University of Queensland and a Masters and PhD in Economics from the Australian National University. She has been a visiting scholar at the Brookings Institution in Washington D.C. In 2012, Heather completed the Advanced Management Program at the Harvard Business School.

Deputy Secretary - Sue Weston

Sue Weston is a Deputy Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

Sue has a Bachelor of Science degree, a Graduate Diploma in Processional Accounting, is a Fellow of CPA Australia and Chartered Accountant.

Deputy Secretary - Elizabeth Kelly 

Elizabeth Kelly commenced as Deputy Secretary at the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science in October 2017, where she is responsible for innovation, digital strategy and industry support programmes.

Prior to this, Elizabeth was Deputy Secretary, Governance at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet where she was responsible for machinery of government, Cabinet, legal policy and governance issues across the public service and coordination of support to the Prime Minister..

Elizabeth has previously served in two Deputy Secretary roles with the Attorney-General’s Department, firstly responsible for Civil Justice and Legal Services and then Strategic Policy and Coordination and ministerial support.

Before returning to the Australian Public Service in 2006, Elizabeth was the Director of Policy and Regulatory Services in the ACT Department of Justice and Community Safety, responsible for legal policy advice to the ACT Government. She also served as the Director of Policy for the Northern Territory Attorney-General’s Department from 1996 to 2001, and was a Crown Prosecutor in the Serious Fraud Office, Fiji Director of Public Prosecutions in 1998.      

Elizabeth was admitted as a legal practitioner by the Supreme Court of New South Wales in 1989, practising as a solicitor at Blake Dawson Waldron in 1989/1990, for the New South Wales Royal Commission into Productivity in the Building Industry from 1990 to 1992 and for the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions from 1992 to 1996.

Elizabeth completed the Advanced Management program at the Harvard Business School in 2012. 

Deputy Secretary - Mary Ann O’Loughlin

Ms Mary Ann O’Loughlin AM is Deputy Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science. Mary Ann is responsible for the department’s science groups, which includes the Science and Commercialisation Policy Division, Questacon (the National Science and Technology Centre), and the National Measurement Institute. She also has responsibility for the Corporate Division, including the department’s budget.

Mary Ann has a diverse set of skills and experience. She was previously Deputy Secretary in the New South Wales Department of Premier and Cabinet. She has also had senior roles at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, the former Department of Employment, Education and Training, and in the private sector.

Mary Ann is a National Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration and a former Director of the Committee for Economic Development Australia (CEDA). In 2013 she was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to public administration through the development of social policies and the reform of federal financial relations.

Mary Ann holds a Bachelor of Arts (First Class Honours) from the University of Sydney, and a Graduate Diploma in Economics from the University of New England.

Deputy Secretary - Mike Lawson

Mike Lawson is the Deputy Secretary responsible for the Strategic Policy, Resources, Northern Australia and Major Projects, Economic & Analytical Services, Industry Growth, and the Anti-Dumping Commission divisions of the Commonwealth Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, as well as the Office of Northern Australia.

Mike was seconded to the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet in 2014 for the Industry Innovation and Competitiveness Agenda and again in 2015 for the National Innovation and Science Agenda.

He was awarded a Public Service Medal in the Queen’s Birthday honors in 2016.

He worked in the International Energy Agency, based in Paris, from 1994 to 1997.

Mike has a Masters Degree in Economics from the Australian National University.

Read more

Our organisational chart shows the internal structure of our department, our senior executives as well as the other agencies that form our portfolio.

Last updated: 30 November 2018

Content ID: 45871